Choices.


We always tend to perceive life as being better for the one who is presented with more choices. We forget that with more choices, the mind of a human only tends to get more muddled up, more confused and sway more easily from choice A to B to D and then back to C in the pursuit of securing the best. We try to weigh our decisions based on the factors we deem as important. Mentally trying to conjour up a table of some-sort by listing out all our factors on the left hand side and then trying to number them. We keep arranging and rearranging the factors, and after between a matter of minutes to hours, we decide on choice D only to change it back to choice B in a matter of seconds. Imagine what happens when you’ve almost 20 options?! Is your mind capable of weighing the factors for that many options? Seriously!

And that’s when you hear your mind voice saying “Who told you having more choices were better? I expected better from you. Thanks for letting me down. I think I should just give up on you.” It always happens to me because I allow the greediness that Mankind is innate with to get the better out of me. I thrive on the satisfaction I get knowing that I’ve made the best decision even for something as mundane as, taking the train instead of the bus just to save 12 minutes and 36 seconds. I seek happiness in knowing that if I walk a couple of hundred meters I can purchase mineral water for a dollar less though, I don’t feel that guilty about spending $19.80 on Starbucks coffee within a span of 4 days (i.e. 3 grande-sized cups in 3 days). That kind of works up to 54 litres of mineral water if I ditch the coffee, mind you.

This TED talk pretty much sums up my point. Spare 20 minutes for this, it’s going to be worth it, trust me!

Everybody needs a fishbowl, so that misery doesn’t paralyze us. How aptly put!

5 thoughts on “Choices.

  1. Bodhi du Jour says:

    Thank you very much for the visit!

    I just arrived here and I read this first post and I HAD to say something because it felt as if you are speaking from my own mind. I couldn’t agree more, having too many options is just as bad as not having any. Scratch that, I think that having too many options is worse.

    I grew up in a country where grocery store shelves were empty most of the time and finding something to buy was a big victory. When I first arrived in the US and I stepped in a supermarket for some cereal, I was mesmerized and lost at the same time. It wasn’t just cereal that came in 20 varieties, but even toothpaste and tomato sauce…. So, I started wondering: given a limited supply of monetary resources, how do you choose? How do you know that you picked the right thing? …

  2. subathrad says:

    Hey thanks for stopping by!

    That’s exactly my point! The TED speaker explained it so well about the satisfaction in the product we buy being reduced due to our self-induced regret after buying the item even if we might have actually made the right decision.

    And the picture about the guy on holiday yet thinking about parking lot is so true!

  3. Pingback: solosingaporean

Leave a Reply

