Success = ?


This post has been inspired by Fat Mum Slim. One of my favourite bloggers. This is another take on it. And below is mine!

I have always wanted to achieve so many things all my life. In the past 3 years alone, I’ve mentally added more things to my already long list of things to achieve by the time my hair turns gray and my knees give way on me, that I’m considering actually penning all of them down. Things to achieve by the time I hit a certain age, with a 5 year span in between my lists. Go figure.

But, I have not measured my success by that till now. Nor, have I pinned hopes on the picturesque image I have about the future ahead of me to define my personal success.

Success to me is very simple and straightforward. It is measured by happiness.

I don’t have a list of 5 or 10 things that I’ve to achieve to be happy, as the things that bring my joy change on a daily basis. Getting dunked into the pool when you can’t swim is fun when it happens once. Try doing that everyday and let me know if you still enjoy it, I’ll salute you. 

This is what success means to me right now. Happiness. And I hope 10, 20 years down the road, I still measure my personal success with happiness as my sole indicator. Of course, I hope expect to be richer, more affluent, have more liabilities and hopefully accumulate some assets along the way. But, I don’t want to use those as my yardsticks to measure success.

My happiness may stem from different things as my world changes. Yet, I still want to be able to define the success of each day I have at hand, with the peace in my heart and the smile plastered on my face in the fleeting moments that pass, from the time my body hits my bed and till my eyes close. And if life goes as planned, include a man to call my own lying beside me.

 source for all 3 images

 What does success mean to you? I’d love to hear.  

5 thoughts on “Success = ?

  1. Vanessa Vancour (@BorboletaMonarc) says:

    Thanks for linking to my blog!
    I love your take on this.
    I’ve since started a gratitude journal where I at the end of each day I ask myself, “What was the best part of today?”

    Happiness is a great way to measure. Being able to find happiness daily is a challenge, but well worth it.

Leave a Reply

