Looking for alaska.


John Green’s first novel and yet, I was blown away. I loved his style of writing. This book reminded me a lot of Perks of being a wallflower by Stephen Chbosky.

I loved the fact the ending wasn’t happy nor were all the questions raised, answered. It felt so real, that it didn’t even feel like I was reading a fictional work. In John Green’s words when asked about the ending,

“The truth is that in our lives we are all going to encounter questions that should be answered, that deserve to be answered, and yet probe unanswerable. Can we find meaning to life without those answers? Can we find a way to acknowledge the reality (and injustice) of suffering without giving in to hopelessness? Those are the questions I think Miles is confronting at the end, and I wanted to argue that through forgiveness, it is possible to live a full and hopeful life – even if our world is saturated with injustice and loss.”

Please read this book if you haven’t or re-read it, if it has faded away from your memory. I literally couldn’t put this book down and finished it within a span of hours.

There is such beauty in tragedy.

Any of his other works that you’d like to recommend me?

One thought on “Looking for alaska.

Leave a Reply

