Friday links!


It’s been a while since I’ve shared my favourites with all of you. I hope you were watching the space for this! #delusionalself

1. TED talk for the week: Listening to shame by Brené Brown.

Vulnerability is our most accurate measurement of courage.

——

If we are going to find out way back to each other, vulnerability is going to be that path.

Thank you Brené for this. This helped me make peace with vulnerability. Something, I’ve been struggling to come to terms with over these years. I’m the kind of person who gets involved very deeply when it concerns friendships or relationships. I have always valued them above all else cause I don’t subscribe to the notion of blood being thicker than water. I take long to warm up. But, when I do, I plunge in deep. I wish it is more of a leap of faith rather than a straight-up drowning which has often been the case (explains the fair bit of bitter endings). I began to wonder, contemplate what was it that was going wrong. Was it the different set of expectations we brought to the plate? Our priorities in life being different? Or did we just change and grow apart? As a result, I often accused myself (was accused by also) to be vulnerable. I was essentially the true embodiment of the phrase “wear your heart on your sleeve”. Before I could come to terms with what that meant to me as an individual, I was conformed to believing that being explicit with my emotions ain’t a good thing. Vulnerability was a synonym to weakness in my dictionary. The dictionary I was forced to construct within. It made me feel ashamed for not being able to be strong enough, hold my guard in front of people (both new and old). So Brené, thank you once again. I need to meet more people like you.

Vulnerability is not weakness, and the uncertainty, risk and emotional exposure we face every day are not optional. Our only choice is a question of engagement. Our willingness to own and engage with our vulnerability determines the depth of our courage and the clarity of our purpose.

Read the speaker’s blog post here.

2. This post (Stepping up in style) seems like a very good DIY if you have stairs at home.

Another variation,

Image linked directly to source.

3. Amidst all my photography hunt and maddness, this article (Why I ditched my SLR) is worth a read. We are often misled to think that great photography is achieved only with the mightiest of cameras at hand. Photography is becoming such an affordable hobby to take up that every other person is armed with a DSLR these days. A tiny part of me dies each time I see a person fumbling with a DSLR cause I wonder they might have bought a camera tad’ bit too advanced just to keep up with the Joneses. Here I am, still months away (hopefully!) from achieving my DSLR dream.

The article made me reflect on 2 things. Photography and memories. We all (most of us, at least) take photographs to capture memories. Unravelling a photo from your past is like travelling down a passage in time. A bittersweet walk down memory lane. So, question is, are your best memories captured with the most powerful camera? With all technicalities in order? The right aperture, ISO setting, camera angle etc. It might be the case. But more often that not, that’s not the case. The best memories might sometimes be captured with an iphone camera or even a 2.0MP Nokia phone for that matter. What matters essentially is the memories that fill you when you look back on that photo rather than the works that when behind that pinhole before you shoot that matters.

So, amidst all the buzz about mighty DSLRs don’t forget the true essence of photography. Go dig out your favourite photo and rediscover what photography means to you.

And for those of you with DSLRs, this tutorial is worth giving go.

As for me, I’m not going let my lack of a mighty camera stop me from having fun when I capture memories. So, I’m going to be participating in June! Photo a day. #photoadayjune created by @fatmumslim

Since I missed taking a shot this morning, I’ll be starting with tomorrow’s, 2nd June. Go have some fun and share your photo via the above social media tools. You could drop a comment here as well! I’ll be happy to follow you back!

You can follow me at subathrad on twitter, instagram and pinterest!

One thought on “Friday links!

Leave a Reply

