Gadget whore!


I always succumb to buying electronics every 2 or 3 months. One of my many many bad habits, I know. This year alone, I’ve bought invested in a polaroid (fujifilm instax mini 50S) and my long awaited wait for IPAD 3 was answered with it’s release in March! Right now, I’m in the midst of my camera hunt. Another camera I should add, apart from current collection that consists of my Sony Digital Camera (WX-1) that has been serving me well for over 2 years and my latest addition – polaroid. Despite being about SGD 1,500 poorer since the year begun, I wanted to get my hands on a Canon DSLR sometime by the end of the year or next year (depending on financial capabilities of course). But suddenly, I feel like putting that dream on-hold and giving film a shot. I’m been doing my fair-bit, more than fair-bit of research on lomo cameras, films, film types, cost of developing films etc. since yesterday. After the many back and forths, my choices right now are swaying towards getting a Sprocket Rocket, a La Sardina or a Fisheye camera. I’ve decided on getting a camera that uses 35mm film since I’m a beginner and more importantly, the cost of 120mm film is higher and so is, developing the film. I wish my pocket was bigger (i.e. 3 times more) to get myself LC-A+! That too the Russian edition (*RED ALERT*) , which is on a 44% discount (only valid yesterday and today)! IF ONLYY 😦 #firstworldpains

So, after multiple reality checks, I think I’m just going to let my first film camera be the Sprocket Rocket.

All images are linked directly to its source.

It allows me to take pictures like this! Need I say more?!

As for multi-lenses cameras, I’m deciding between ActionSampler and Oktomat. Basically, either 4 or 8 frames! My sister got herself a Supersampler a couple of years back. I know, I know. I take a while to fall in love (no pun intended, I think *raises eyebrows*).

I’ve got a feeling I’m going to be spending about the same money or more with all that I’ve mentioned (i.e. individual, specialized cameras) instead of just getting the LC-A+ (since it gives me the option of multi-lens). Is that good or bad? Ah, I don’t know. But if you do, please share with me your 2- cents worth. I’m new to lomography and the film world. So any advice is good advice. Thank you, in advance!

I love the entire process of researching up on specifications, comparing, make a decision then reconsidering it to see if I’m made the ‘best’ decision. Though, with regards to technology, the word ‘best’ is invalid as something new, better, sleeker, more stylish will always be coming up. And then, dilemma woes happen all over again and cycle repeats itself. I hope I’m not alone in this cause then, I should be termed more than a gadget whore. *fingers crossed*

See, I kept to my word of a light-hearted entry! *gives myself a pat on the shoulder and says “you’re welcome!”*

P.S. Sorry, I’m on a self-humour mode today. Forgive me! It might be due to the invasion that happened last night. #ladygagabornthiswayball

3 thoughts on “Gadget whore!

Leave a Reply

