Life lately.


I’ve been so consumed with work lately I’ve hardly had time to breathe. Whatever little free time I have ends up being spent recharging myself and sustaining my social life, which is rather non-existant these days. In some ways, I’m glad for the present. And at the other times, I wonder if this is where I wanna be. It might be too early to ask myself that given 2 weeks has barely passed. But right now, I’m happy.

Despite my all-consuming work, I’ve managed to get some reading done. I’ve re-read Priya Basil’s novel, The Obscure Logic Of The Heart. Apt novel to begin the year with. Anil’s and Lina’s love story always makes me draw parallels. When you ask a person in love/in a relationship, he/she is bound to say love conquers all. But, I always believed otherwise even when I fell in love. Love is not enough. It never is. The novel is such a bittersweet one, it leaves you wondering that sometimes, there is beauty even in tragedy. Well, I’d like to believe so. There can be happy heartbreaks. Right?

Some my favourite quotes from the novel.

“We all come with too much history to be remade entirely by love.”

“I don’t see the point of deferring happiness for some future promise of salvation.”

——

I’ve started on Natalie Taylor’s, Signs of life, which is a memoir of a wife dealing with the loss of her husband while she’s carrying his child. Her writing is so straight from her heart, like as if she didn’t censor her pain and her sadness to sound stronger or less weak (whichever applicable). It just feels so..real. Her loss.

My favourite lines from the novel so far.

“Do not pity the dead, Harry. Pity the living, and, above all, those who live without love.”

“Isn’t that almost an oxymoron, living with the pain of death.”

What have you been up to lately? I hope the new year has been treating you well!

bedugul_bali

On a side note, I’m going to Bali in May! Like freaking finally!

And my awesome retina display laptop deserves a companion. Kind of a Canon companion. (Hint! Hint!)

Happy weekend folks!

Leave a Reply

