Rest of Sigiriya, explored.


I blogged quite some time back on Lion’s Rock, Sigiriya, so let me pick up from where I left off to continue my tales.

I stayed at Hotel Sigiriya which boasts the Lion’s Rock as an excellent backdrop against the swimming pool of the hotel. It was a lovely stay and the buffet spread (both for breakfast and dinner) was excellent. I highly recommend this hotel, except, please remember to close the windows when the sun sets, otherwise you will be greeted with an insect-fest when you return from dinner.

Kottu Roti (chopped up Roti Prata)

Apart from scaling the Lion’s Rock, I enjoyed our Village Safari visit very much. It comprised of home-cooked lunch (in literally a hut), boat ride, visit to a local’s home, bullock cart ride and ended of our experience with either a jeep safari ride/tuk-tuk ride.

Lunch in preparation.

 Probably one of the best meals ever. I still remember how fresh the Dhal tasted. 

 Water dispenser, i.e. tap

My entire boat ride clan. 

I had to give it a try. (just for photo-sake)

Spotted a traveller, who looked rather amusing, along our boat ride.

SAMSUNG CSC 

SAMSUNG CSCHands on with coconut grating in a local’s home.

Ready, set, chug?

SAMSUNG CSC

We then, ended off the evening with a short trip to Polonnaruwa (Ancient City). Polonnaruwa was the second capital of Sri Lanka after the destruction of Anuradhapura. Was a pity we only had slightly over an hour to explore the ruins before the sun set. I recommend at least half a day to explore this marvel thoroughly.

 Sometimes, there is beauty even in destruction. 

Keep on walking with me, as I unravel my other adventures in Sri Lanka.

Till then, Ayubowan.

All images belong to Solosingaporean unless otherwise credited for. Please give credit where it’s due.

2 thoughts on “Rest of Sigiriya, explored.

Leave a Reply

