Hoi An on 2 feet.


Cua Dai Beach, Hoi An

I’ve been always meaning to make a trip to Hanoi, specifically Halong Bay, and last month I managed to squeeze some time amidst work for a trip.

Flight Matters

Flying in to Hanoi from Singapore isn’t specifically cheap, if you compare a return flight that is, so I decided to fly in to Saigon (Ho Chi Minh City) and catch a domestic flight to Danang. Spent a night in Danang, or rather Hoi An, and I flew up to Hanoi. Works out cheaper and you get to see Danang/Hoi An, so why not? For domestic flights, I flew VietJetAir which costed me about USD 40. Nothing fancy, basic, fuss-free 1-hour flight journeys.

Dollars and cents

Hotel, cruise, tour payments can be made in USD. All other small expenses, street food to bike rentals to taxi rides can be paid in Vietnam Dong (VND).

I didn’t spend much time in Danang apart from just flying in to the city. In my opinion, there is more to do in Hoi An, as compared to Danang, so I caught a motorbike ride to head down to my villa for USD 10. Just about a 30 minute ride away.

Danang and Hoi An are both peaceful and quiet towns perfect to get away from the hustle of city life. Very different traffic situation as opposed to Hanoi traffic i.e. madness. I specifically loved Hoi An for it encourages cycling around. It is a common sight to see locals, school kids and of course, tourists just paddling away on their bicycles to explore the town.

Apart from being known as a cycling town, Hoi An is known for being a city of lights when the sun sets. The city transforms into a magical town, perfect to stroll down just before a hearty dinner.

 Common sight of lanterns hanging along the streets

IMG_1115

We stayed in a villa room (facing the swimming pool and river) at Pho Hoi Riverside Resort which costed us USD 80 for 3 pax. Just a 2 minute walk from shops which was perfect and yet, quiet enough for us to just relax by the pool.

“I’ve got nothing to do today but smile.”

Street vendor who ended up chit-chatting with us rather than pushing sales

My Son Sanctuary tour

 Beauty in destruction

Hoi An, was a perfect pitstop for me being continuing the rest of my journey to Hanoi. Other common areas to visit around central Vietnam would be Nha Thrang (further South) or Hue (just North above Danang).

Keep on reading for my updates on Hanoi and, of course, Halong Bay.

All images belong to Solosingaporean unless otherwise credited for. Please give credit where it’s due.

Leave a Reply

