Strawberry generation?


Taken at Melbourne Star Observation Wheel, Australia, 2011

Learn to be completely be with yourself. Let there be no distractions. Let the waves of thoughts overwhelm you. Let them crash and hit into you. Take the mess, the pain, the confusion. Because after, there will be stillness. Because there will be peace and calm. After. 

So, finally, after close to a month of battling with my thoughts over bus rides, in between my much dreaded afternoon meetings, long nights with the stereo blasting at the background, I made a decision. It’s time to pack and leave. This by far has been one of my toughest decisions to make. But, now that I’ve made it, I daresay, I’ve never felt this free and light before.

Throwing in the towel and deciding to take the plunge without another job offer at hand is every adult’s nightmare. At this very moment, I’m just glad I’m 26 (a month shy) and I can afford to take this plunge. I shudder thinking how different my decision would have been if I was, say, 10 years older?

We are the very people older generations have termed “strawberry generation” as. A friend of mine shared this as her Facebook status recently, “If you dread going to work, you’re spending more than 50% of your waking hours in misery. If you’re gonna work for 40 years, that’s 20 years of teeth-gritting agony. All the money in the world cannot exchange for 20 years of happiness. Besides, happiness is something that you inhabit, not earn.  I believe we should pay our dues, but please pick something that you enjoy so it’ll be worth the investment.  Happiness can start now, don’t wait for it to happen. Make the right choice!”

Charles Bukowski said, find what you love and let it kill you. It’s been 3 years since I graduated from Singapore’s top university (hurhur) and I’m, proud to say, still in the midst of discovering what I love doing while getting paid for. I may never find that ‘perfect’ job. But, I tell myself, each passing day brings me closer to finding out what I don’t want to do for the rest of my life, even if I don’t know what I want to do for the rest of it.

Oh, and of course, we can blame Steve Jobs. After all, the mantra is stay hungry, stay foolish right.

Leave a Reply

