Scaling your mountain.


I was part of a discussion today, on one’s attempt to scale K2. “A savage mountain that tries to kill you” according to an American climber. Ideas and questions got bounced off while we spoke on how we should fundraise.

And it got me thinking, what’s my mountain?

It isn’t on my bucket list actually, to climb a mountain. Not yet at least. I have always marvelled people putting their lives on the line and doing so, especially for a cause. But, that hasn’t inspired me yet to scale any, up till today.

And, today, he said “I want to show people anyone can do it if I can. After all, I got inspired by an ordinary man. He wasn’t a 5-star athlete, but just an ordinary man, like you and me.”

So, that moment got me setting my eyes on EBC. I’m not sure when I’m going to be embarking on it. But I will at some point. Possibly, in the next 3 years.

I might fail. I may come 100m shy of summit. I may not even embark at all. I may decide on something less challenging. Maybe Kinabalu, maybe Rinjani, maybe something else.

And, it just started raining. I reckon the Gods are already beginning to shower me with their blessings.

What is your mountain? It need not be a physical mountain. But, what are you looking to scale and conquer? What is your biggest fear?

My biggest fear is to live without feeling alive. Let’s start, shall we?

Leave a Reply

